Alice Hughes achieves season best finish at Silverstone

My name is Alice Hughes; I’m 21 years old from North Yorkshire. This is only my second year racing on the tarmac circuits, however I’ve competed throughout many championships racing at British and National level in Autograss since I was 14. Autograss circuits are short, oval, clockwise and on mud. This taught me a lot about car control which saw me win the National Championships back to back in both 2013 and 2014. In 2015, I then made the move to the tarmac circuits racing for the Bailey Race team, in a Mighty Mini produced by Snetterton Speedshop themselves. In only my first year of circuit racing, I’d made an impression. I had two top-7 finishes in my first ever circuit race on a 30+ grid.

Alice 3

Alice with teammate Alistair Camp at Silverstone last weekend. Photo Credit – 750 Motor Club

2016 saw Tom Bell from TBR Racing (www.tbrracing.co.uk) and Ian Carr from Race Engineered (www.raceengineered.co.uk) pioneering and building an A Class Hot Hatch Fiesta that I currently run in the 750 Motor Club. The TBR Race Engineered car was launched at the NEC Autosport show on the 750 Motor Club stand and was displayed for the full 4 days. Also being launched there was Susie Wolff’s new scheme of Dare To Be Different, who are also really trying to drive female talent in motorsport. www.daretobedifferent.org/

Alice 1

Alice Hughes set the fastest lap on her way to finishing a career best second at Silverstone in the Royal Purple Hot Hatch series. Photo Credit – Alice Hughes Racing

Silverstone was the first time I could try out the full potential of the car after the development that the team had made since the issues at Donington Park 5 weeks ago. The standard H-pattern gearbox was upgraded to a heavy duty Quaife sequential box and the brakes were also upgraded and supplied by BG Developments. I’d never been to Silverstone, never mind race there, so I booked myself into iZone Driver Performance (www.izoneperformance.com), who are actually based on Silverstone circuit itself. Kevin and the team at iZone were incredible and really gave me the advice and confidence I needed as a novice to Silverstone.

With iZone’s help, I took the fastest lap (1:07.28) and achieved P2 in my first ever race in the Royal Purple Hot Hatch series.

Alice 2

Alice’s training in the iZone simulator was crucial to her success as she raced at Silverstone for the first time. Photo Credit – Alice Hughes Racing

With the car being developed further, the future is bright and looking more and more positive, proving ourselves with a podium finish in my first ever race with the team. However, all talent needs support to flourish so if you’d like to be a part of this success, message us on my website; www.AliceHughesRacing.co.uk or follow us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/AliceHughesRacing.

Your support means the world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

